Hill-1 Amy-0

So. tired. of. the. rain.  Today I had a 50 minute bike ride on my tri schedule.  It was slightly drizzling out and I did not want to go to the gym so I decided to take my chances on the 10% chance of rain and headed out. 

Well, we all know what happened next…it started raining harder.  I decided I was already invested and kept on going.  My goal was to go out for 25 minutes and then head back.  I knew I wanted to go to Worthington Hills and do the big hill.  My triathlon in June has a pretty tough hill and I thought this would be a good training hill to use. 

As I came to the top and headed down, I realized just how steep it was and I got a bit very nervous!  I coasted to the bottom and made my turn.  My mistake, I realize now, was gearing down too quickly.  Can you guess what happened next?  Yeah, my chain fell off.  Here I was at the farthest point from home and I was stuck.  Luckily I had my phone and called my wonderfully handy husband!  I was proud that I remained calm and he helped me through putting the chain back on.  I loved his first comment to me…”You realize your hands are going to get dirty, right?”  He knows me well!         

There was no way I was going to be able to get up that hill riding, so I swallowed my pride and walked my bike up the steepest part.  I got back on and continued home as the rain got harder and harder.  I still had 10 minutes left, so instead of heading straight home, I rode through the neighborhood until I got my 50 minutes in. I’m wet and my legs are tired, but I rode 10 miles today!  Yay me!  🙂 

Finish Strong!

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hill-1 Amy-0

  1. llb says:

    Good for you to ride outside in the rain… go Amy 🙂 You can get that hill next time!!

  2. Mandy says:

    Good for you! I almost went riding today – and decided not to brave the rain at the last minute…I wish I were as cool as you!

    I especially love your dirty fingers picture. 🙂

  3. themadbohemian says:

    I love the “you know your hands are going to get dirty, right?” Hilarious!! Great job getting out there today. I ran for a mile in the rain and thought the same thing: so. over. the. rain.

  4. Is it sad that I didn’t know you could gear too fast or whatever? I own a friggin bike and I don’t know the first thing about riding it. I wanna be cool like you!

Leave a Reply

