Selfish Behavior?

Okay, I admit that I tend to have a “me first” attitude when it comes to activities that I want/like to do.  And yes, I realize that I have had almost every Saturday morning to run with MIT for the last 6 months.  Does that mean that when my husband informed me that he told some friends of ours that are moving that he would be there at 8am on SATURDAY that I got a tad bit hugely frustrated with him?  And can you believe he got irritated with me when I suggested a couple of alternatives so I would be able to go run??  I mean, am I out of line?  He’d still get to help our friends and I’d get my run in.  Win-Win!  Right? 

Anywhoodle, back on the exercise front, I think I strained a tushy muscle riding my bike today.  It’s feeling better, but earlier, it was sore!  I did my first official “brick” today.  A brick is when you do two triathlon events back-to-back.  My brick was biking to running.  I biked for 40 minutes and then was supposed to run for 15.  Being the overachiever that I am, I wanted to get a 2 mile run instead of just 1.  Biking felt great!  I finished and had a Gu before heading out to run.  If you’ve never done the transition from biking to running, it feels weird!  You have to get your legs moving in a different way and they are tired and sluggish.  Add the heat, humidity and wind to the mix and you have a tired Amy!  :/  I ran the first mile too fast and my shins started hurting.  I stopped and stretched and then slogged on.  The second mile I slowed waaaay down and had to stop a couple more times to stretch out my shins.  I finally finished and was a hot and sweaty mess…just in time to go pick up the kids from school! 

I have to admit, I am having some doubts on whether or not I can do this tri in June.  Part of me wants to do it and the other part of me doesn’t (the part of me who hates to fail!).   Any advice/thoughts for me?

Until next time…Finish Strong!

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Selfish Behavior?

  1. Judi says:

    “Tushy muscle”??? LOL…that’s awesome. Right up there with “anywhoodle.” I’m of no use regarding wisdom on tri’s, but I can say that I’ve seen your determination first hand. I think you can do it, but I also know that you are sensible regarding your body and won’t do something that might lend towards injury. All the same, you are a machine, girl….I’ve watched you!!!!

  2. Mmm, my pulled butt muscle is finally healing, but I had to rest it FOREVER. If you need to tape it, I used the video on the KT Tape web site. Can you get a babysitter for Saturday? I’ll be at Rescue Run, so I won’t see you at MIT.

  3. runnermoose says:

    Ahem. This is your friendly neighborhood pace police reminding you that while you ARE the super amazing blue/purple blur, you are not invincible!! Take it easy, girl!! You CAN do this Tri in June, and you’ll rock it, but just stick to your schedule. It’s OK to “only” run one mile, especially if you’ve just biked for 40 minutes! As Duane and Jeff and everyone else has been telling us, the point of training is to prepare you for your race, not wear yourself out. Get to the start line well rested, and let that overachiever in you do her thing!!

  4. Sara says:

    HAHA! You don’t need my advice because the others said it ALL! Amy, I so admire you for not “just” running and taking on a tri. Seriously – I HOPE to be there with you someday. You can totally do it, but Deb is right – just stick to the schedule. You know how it feels when you have a really awesome 6 mile run and then a 3 mile run to recover. You want to run more, but you have to back off to build your base and keep reaching for your super-speedy-lightening-hill-obliteration-you-need-to-run-Pittsburgh-with-Duane goals!

  5. Sara says:

    Oh, and my husband is the same way. He acts like running Saturday is a new thing sometimes!?

  6. Mandy says:

    LOL! Everyone already beat me to the comments on the tri-training. Suffice it to say that I agree with the others 100%.

    Personally – I don’t think you’re being selfish at all. In fact, if my husband did that – we’d have words too. He’s entitled to his own time as well, of course – but your pre-planned time should be respected.

Leave a Reply

