Warning: Whining Ahead

Sooooo, currently the water temperature at Alum Creek is a balmy frigid 65 degrees.  Yikes!  I’m hoping these next few weeks will bring warmer air temps and water temps!  My training is plugging along, though I’m still nervous about doing the tri.  I officially signed up today and there is no turning back now. 

My tentative plan is doing the Air Force 10K in September, Emerald Half in September and Columbus Half in October.  I probably won’t be doing many other races this summer.  They add up quickly!  Plus, I just spent a wad at Fleet Feet today with Sarah and Jennifer.  Thanks ladies for a fun time!  🙂

I have been really struggling with my eating ever since the half marathon.  It’s like I have absolutely zero self-control and am eating everything in sight!  I have the head knowledge and know exactly what to do to lose weight and eat right, but I am not doing what I need to do.  Why is it so hard for me?  When will I stop sabotaging myself and lose this excess weight?!!!   I really need to be accountable and have people ask me how I am doing.  Any advice?  Tips? I wish I could wave a magic wand and have it all disappear… <insert big sigh here>

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Warning: Whining Ahead

  1. So on my way home from your house yesterday, my friend in Philly asked me if we could do the USAF 10K together. I’m excited you are doing it too! I’ve never actually done a 10K for some reason.

    I have no idea on the weight loss. I kind of just eat what I want and let the Synthroid do the rest. I think you are probably so hungry because of the triathalon training. Have you tried keeping a food journal or sparkpeople.com? A lot of people say that really helps.

  2. Mandy says:

    I’m so excited to hear about your tri and all those races! Sounds like a fun and challenging schedule!

    I’m the worst person to ask about food issues. Especially now. But, even before I was pregnant – I lost no weight training for my first ever half marathon because I did not regulate my food intake – I felt like it was impossible because I NEEDED the fuel to keep up with the training. So, I can relate to the frustration.

    Don’t be too hard on yourself Amy – you look fabulous! I do like Sarah’s idea of a food journal – when I get back to training, I think I’ll have to do that. 😀

  3. Sara says:

    I. Hear. You. You know I have been plateaued for what seems like eternity!!! Ech. When is enough, enough? Right now, you are still post-race. It is okay to let your body relax a little and enjoy the things you don’t eat or drink on a regular basis. I think that is perfectly fine! The thing is, knowing when your “rest-period” is over and getting back on the wagon.

    What helps me get back on track most of all is a food journal. Yup. THAT puts it all back into perspective when I am really struggling [especially if I am stupid enough to show it to RB]! Sometimes even just reading a food label gets me back on track too – or the ingredients list.

    Hang in there, Amy! You’re doing great!! Getting back on track will be no problem for you! 🙂

  4. Judi says:

    I have eaten non-stop after both half marathons, so I think it’s somewhat normal. Not sure why, but have certainly heard this from other runners. It’s hard to regulate food when you just feel so darn hungry!!!

    I’m psyched for you doing the tri!! That’s awesome! Let’s hope that all this raging heat pays off for you with a nice water warm-up. I’ll sacrifice my comfort if it’ll warm the water for you!

    AF10K….and 2 half marathons…girl, you are a madwoman!!!! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

