Trail Talk

I have to say I love the Olentangy Trail!  It is neat to see the different types of users on it: runners, bikers, families, pet owners.  For the most part, people are friendly and follow the rules of the trail.  Occasionally, you get the rude person who is oblivious to everything around them.  Tonight, as I was riding, a woman had her elderly dog off his leash and he wandered right in front of me, where I had to slow down or hit him.  I was so angry and made sure I let her know that that was one of the reasons for the leash law.  She didn’t say anything, I think she realized her dog could have gotten hurt. 

I also had a (very) close encounter of the furry kind with something small and black that darted across the trail.  I believe I screamed outloud!  Luckily both of us made it unscathed and I continued on my way.  Phew!

On a different note, I’ve been tracking my food again.  I had stopped while I was taking my 2 classes, but I realize I need to do it to stay on track.  I use Spark People and it has been really helpful.  4 days down.  It’s so hard!  I wish I could eat what I wanted, but alas that is not in the cards for me!  The amount of weight I need to lose is also very overwhelming.  I’m in this for the long haul.  Blah.

Anywhoodle, just a little over a week til my tri.  I can’t believe this next week is a taper.  I feel like I just started training and wish I had a couple more weeks to train harder.  I just want to finish and not come in last.  Soooo nervous!  :/

 

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trail Talk

  1. Mandy says:

    Why is it that the people that shouldn’t have their dogs off leash are always the ones that do? And what crazy owner has their dog off leash in such a popular area??? Especially with the bikes. Cassie is a good dog – but I would never do the OT with her off leash.

    Food journal. Words I don’t want to take to heart – but will. I really needed to lose some weight before I got pregnant….You’re inspiring me to take them to heart in Sept!

    I cannot believe you have just a little over a week left too! I’m so excited for you! You’ll rock it!!!

  2. Anywhoodle! I don’t blame you for being mad about the dog, some people are stupid. I know you will be great at your triathlon, I just wish I could be there to cheer you on. And I think you are super hot, so don’t stress to much about losing weight. You’ll get where you want to be.

  3. Judi says:

    I don’t think people realize how fast bikes come and go on that trail….and I think that people with dogs forget that they can’t get the dog out of the way nearly as fast as they think they can. I’ve had them dart out on the trail with running and all but killed myself without even an apology from the owner. I’m fine with them on leashes, but off the leash is just dangerous for all.

    You are going to do great on your tri! I’m hoping you are going to be at the breakfast so I can hear all about it!

  4. Sara says:

    That’s horrible! Good think you, the dog, or the fat black thing (yikes!!) were not hurt!

    You said, ‘The amount of weight I need to lose is also very overwhelming. I’m in this for the long haul.’ I know how you feel! I am also in this for the long haul! I hear it eventually becomes your way of life and is not a struggle all of the time. That kind of happened to me my second session of MIT. I feel like I had a balance of running and eating and working out and it flowed perfectly. I was losing weight then too. I might have to look into Spark People too.

    Amy – you are going to ROCK your tri! I have every confidence in the world that you will do wonderful! I am so inspired by you that I want to try (or should I say tri?! ha!) one too! That is amazing to take on three sports. Good luck, but you don’t need it because you are already awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

