Feeling more like an athlete

Our family had fun on Saturday when we drove to Waldo, Ohio to participate in the Hot Tamale Bike Ride!  It was Rich’s first long ride and the rest of us went to support and cheer him on.  The kids and I biked 9 miles…their longest ride yet!  I was so proud of them!  Even when they were tired or their tushy hurt, they didn’t complain <much> and followed right behind me.  Rich persevered and finished his 62 mile ride, too.  It was so hard to do the turn around for the family ride.  I soooo wanted to keep going and do a longer ride.

I love that our family is active and the kids are not against doing these type of activities.   I can’t help but think back to a year ago when neither Rich nor I were doing much.  I had started training for a mini triathlon and wanted him to get into shape.  I can be a worry wart and I tend to be that way with my family.  I want him to be around for a long time!!  I think I was starting to nag him and so I backed off and just did my thing.  I was so excited when he began biking and enjoyed it.

I look at us now and smile at how far both of us have come.  Here I am…running, biking, swimming.  I’ve finished a half marathon, doing a sprint triathlon and am loving every minute of it!  🙂  Even on my rest days, I am itching to get out and get some kind of exercise in.  Like my title says, I feel like I am becoming an athlete!  I wonder if there will be some sort of “aha” moment when I feel like I’ve totally arrived and and can truly call myself one.  I pray that I will be able to continue to keep up this active lifestyle for the rest of my life.

How about you?  Do you call yourself an athlete?  Do you see yourself staying active for life?

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feeling more like an athlete

  1. This is gonna sounds lame, but I always feel like I can’t call myself an athlete because I don’t look like an athlete. I recognize this is patently absurd, but I feel like a fraud when I say athlete because athletes and lean and vaguely scary looking. I have issues.

    Great job on the bike ride! You are teaching your kids such great lessons about health and fitness!

  2. Sarah, I feel the same way! I am so intimidated when I walk into Fleet Feet or Bike Source. I just know they are thinking, “What is she doing in here? She doesn’t look like our typical clientele!” I long for the day when I can look AND feel like an athlete.

  3. Mandy says:

    Sarah and Amy ~ You are both beautiful! And, I consider you both athletes. Maybe not professional athletes – but I’m not sure I’d WANT to look like those gals. 🙂 We, on the other hand, have some more normal curves.

    That being said – I have always called myself athletic – but I’m not sure I would use the word athlete habitually. My parents signed me up for soccer as soon as I could walk and I played most of my life….until a few years back. I need to find somewhere to play again!

    Now that I wrote a book – I’m glad you had a great ride and you and Rich have made such awesome changes. (that’s why I got to meet you!) Good job teaching your kids good habits too!

  4. Sara says:

    AMY! You are an athlete, in my book! NOT. EVEN. A. QUESTION! I admire your strength and dedication to not only finishing what you set out to do, but finishing it well! You are an athlete – never question that. I am in complete admiration of what you have done to encourage and ensure that your family members also lead active lifestyles. I hope to do that one day in my family.

    Congrats to Rich – how great!!

    I don’t really consider myself an athlete because I don’t look like one [read: I am not thin enough to be a runner]. For me, they have a certain look and I don’t fit in with that. I think it goes along with my sometimes poor self-esteem! I never considered myself athletic as a child, even though I was in sports from time to time. As an adult, I do feel more like an athlete than I did, but don’t call myself one!!

  5. Jenn Murray says:

    I wanted to comment so you know I’ve been reading :). I don’t comment much since I read through google reader. I wouldn’t call myself a runner until I finished the half. But–I do feel like a rock star after every.single.run. which is why I blast it all over FB. I need attention.

  6. Judi says:

    I DO consider myself an athlete, but I struggle with the concept of what an athlete should look like too. My body has changed A LOT since I started running and in many ways I actually really haven’t liked. I’ve really struggled with it a lot, but haven’t said much about it. I do think that we see the covers of Runner’s World and other sports magazines and because we don’t look like them or go as fast as them, that makes us struggle with the overall concept of athlete….or what it means to be an athlete.

    Yet, we are athletes. C’mon…we ran a half marathon. That’s not a leisurely stroll through the park. That’s not just a 5K. 13.1 miles definitely puts us into the realm of ATHLETIC, if not a total ATHLETE.

    So much of being a true athlete is not just about physical, but the mental game. To run a half, you have to have a mental game plan and mindset to get through those miles. I’ve run 2 of them and, in both, I had to get my game face on. I think that makes us athletes because we work at this and to get to the start line. We read, research, talk, compare notes, ask questions, etc. Yeah, kids, we are athletes.

    I think it’s so good that you and your family are NOT living a sedentary lifestyle. You should be incredibly proud of your personal accomplishments, but also that of how the two of you have sought to build this into your parenting…to pass onto your kids the importance of fitness and getting out there and doing it….even if you aren’t the fastest or the buffest athlete out there. What a great legacy.

Leave a Reply

