Withdrawls

Let me start by saying that I am really enjoying Rebecca’s training!  I have received meal options for breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks that I am able to pick from.  She gave me very specific strength exercises for all major body parts. I was even able to Skype with her this morning and have her answer some questions I had.

While I knew some of the changes would be tough, I had forgotten about how the absence of certain foods, like chocolate and potato chips would be really difficult for me.  The past few nights, I have gone to bed with headaches.  I know those headaches are caused by withdrawing from the sugar I was eating before starting this plan.  It has been hard not having my nightly dark chocolate fix, but I know that it will be worth it in the long run.

Also, this being a holiday weekend, I was withdrawing from eating whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.  I had to pick ONE meal where I could cheat and the rest I needed to stay on track.  That was hard!  I chose a picnic we went to last night with friends for my cheat meal.  I knew there would be lots of goodies and that I wasn’t strong enough to say no to everything yet.  Let me tell you, it was hard to not grab a handful of chips from the leftovers today!  I didn’t (yay me!) and sent them with Rich and the kids to be eaten at the pool this afternoon while I went and worked out.

Making changes is hard!  I know I won’t always do the right thing and I need to give myself grace when I mess up.  The important things are to learn from the mistakes I make, keep myself headed in the right direction and do my best.  I really want to finish this journey strong, just like in any of my races.

Anywhoodle, I was inspired by a fellow winner of the cyber training, Sarah, to post a before picture of myself…

Starting Point

I’ll be blogging specifically about my cyber training on Sundays.  That is when I check in with Rebecca.  I’ll be calling it “Strong Body Sundays.”  Keep me accountable!

Amy 🙂

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Withdrawls

  1. Wow, way to go, Amy! I’m so proud of you for posting your before picture!

  2. Sara says:

    Yay! Amy – I love this post!! It is written so well and I can totally relate to how you are feeling!! Thanks for this post b/c is has me thinking about the choices I make everyday. Example – I hardly EVER drink soda, but I grabbed a Sprite at lunch because it was there – not because I really even like it! Well, thanks to reading your post just now, I literally dumped it out and got a glass of water. Your posts help me stay accountable too, and I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate it.

    And – you are so brave to post your picture – good for you! I think you are beautiful, no matter what – especially your hair!! 😉

  3. themadbohemian says:

    This is a great post ad your honesty is awesome. I love your thoughts on choices. I’m excited for you doing the cyber-training and can’t wait to see how it goes for you. I know it will be hard, but your motivation is inspiring.

    I agree with Sara….you are beautiful no matter what and, yes, I want your hair. Yeah, I know…I shouldn’t covet your hair, but I am. It’s just too awesome for words.

  4. Mandy says:

    You are so beautiful – I had to say that and agree with the others right away. 🙂

    For the record – and you may hate me for saying this – I was told by a trainer and a nutritionist that if you stick to your diet 80% of the time that’s good enough. That means – your one meal on the holiday weekend is okay. And an occasional rare tidbit of dark chocolate probably would be okay too. 😉

    Good for you for making those changes!!!! While I intend to change things to lose weight in a few months, I don’t think I could ever completely cut out chips and snacks. You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

