Living Life

Life gets in the way of perfect living.

This week, our kiddos are having a fantastic week with my parents!  That translates into a lot of “me” time as well as Rich and I having some nice evenings together.  (Minds out of the gutter, please!) 🙂  Last night we tried out a new restaurant and bakery and had a delicious meal.  Tonight I attended a party.  Tomorrow night Rich is meeting me at the MIT social.  All of this doesn’t fit in well with the eating plan that I am following.

I could be legalistic and not allow myself to go anywhere or eat anything that does not fit in the plan.  I could go crazy and not have any willpower whatsoever.  Neither of those options appeal to me.  I need to learn how to live life when it’s not always scheduled or structured.  I need to learn how to live life and still enjoy life.

So therein lies the dilemma that I face.  How do you live when life gets in the way?

Amy

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living Life

  1. Sara says:

    I was *just* about to write a similar blog post. Last week I struggled with making the right food choices (so I ended up going the portion control route . . . I ordered what I wanted, but only ate half – or in one case 1/4 – of what was presented to me. And I drank “beer water” – aka MGD64 – instead of the normal adult beverage I order. I guess that’s the trade-off??). My issue this week has been finding time to work out. I haven’t made it to the gym and I’ve only run one time this week. And I have no real excuses . . . just other “priorities” have made it difficult to get a workout in this week. So now I have mommy guilt, work guilt, food guilt *and* workout guilt. Awesomness. 🙂 Just wanted you to know you are not alone!

    {and PS — I’m uber jealous you were without kids for an entire week! I must work on that with my parents!} 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    I tend to go with moderation is key! For example, I’ve done pretty well this week so I will eat out tonight with you guys, but if I had been eating out a lot this week, I may chose something a little healthier – like no fries or something. AND – keep it in perspective! I don’t foresee you letting 1 WEEK turn into two or three or four so enjoy your time away from the kids and have fun – you’ll be just fine! 😉

  3. Mandy says:

    I tend to allow a certain amount of “let it go” when I’m on a diet or workout plan, it’s only human and natural. I find that stressing out about a little bit of “let it go” too much makes the whole plan fail, at least for me.
    …and when the “let it go”s seem to be all piling up at once, I tend to either add an extra amount of cardio (even a low impact walk or something) or I go the “order it, but don’t eat all of it” route.

    Enjoy your time without the kids and those guilty pleasures. 🙂

  4. Yeah, I’m having 2 cheat meals today. There were two big events I wanted to celebrate, and I figured 2 meals won’t kill me. Also, I was starting to really feel deprived so I figured controlled cheating on these special occasions was the way to go.

Leave a Reply

