Excuses

So, the past two weeks have been busy as I’ve been preparing to start a new school year.  I’ve allowed myself to become “too busy” to eat well and this week I’ve not “had the time” to get out and exercise.

Do you see the downward spiral I am on?  Yikes!  I hate excuses, yet here I am making a bunch of them!  Tomorrow I’ll start…busy day…no time…too tired…too stressed…eating this way once, twice won’t hurt… I could go on and on!

I’m hoping that writing all of this will encourage me to stop making excuses and halt this cycle that I’ve found myself in.  I don’t want to keep saying tomorrow, tomorrow, tomorrow.  It just becomes next week, after the holidays, etc.

I don’t want excuses to ruin all the hard work that I have put into becoming more fit and healthy.  How do you get out of a rut that you find yourself in?  Help me snap out of this, please!!!!  :/

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Excuses

  1. I have been sooooo bad about my eating and running. Admittedly, I have the king of all excuses, but that’s not a good reason to stop taking care of myself. Let’s be accountable together, ok?

  2. I’ve TOTALLY been there!!! You are not alone!!! Sometimes, I have found that taking a break is what I need, but it’s know when to get “back on the horse” that counts. YOU, my friend, know what to do and how to take care of yourself and I think once you get back into a school/kids/busy routine, your body will cry out for health/fitness/etc. again and you will know when enough is enough. That is what my body has been telling me! I have a confession to you – I ate McDonald’s for lunch TWO days this week and I was feeling totally disgusting and bad about it, but after the second day I thought, “This is NOT how I want to be!” Yesterday, my brain wanted a cheeseburger and for a moment I thought, “What the H? I already did it twice this week, who cares?” Then I realized I CARE and don’t want to treat my body poorly anymore. Step 1 to getting back on track! Eeeck, THAT was embarrassing to share!!!! I’m here for you if you need a friend! I know how you feel!

  3. Mandy says:

    I totally understand the excuses issue. That’s why I’m fond of the 80% rule. As long as you follow your diet/exercise plan 80% of the time, you’re doing well.

    A good mutual friend last week gave me good advice for post-birth, which I think is equally good advice for any time life gets hectic. Appreciate the small victories. In the case of not eating right – it could be as simple as – I had vegetables with dinner. That advice has helped me immensely this week. I want to remember it and pull it out whenever it is needed.

    Love you!

  4. I think you have officially snapped out of it….great job running today!!!! You were a beast on those 10 miles. So impressed!

  5. Candice says:

    Hope you are out of your rut!

Leave a Reply

