Finish Strong Sunday-Halloween Edition

All of my hard work and dedication to being healthy is paying off.  I lost 4.6 lbs. this week and hit my 5% goal!  I’ve lost a total of 14.8 lbs.

I can’t tell you how encouraging this is to me after struggling for so long trying to find a “diet” that I could stick to and not make myself crazy trying to remember what to eat, what not to eat, when to eat it and how much I could eat.  For me, Weight Watchers is simple: eat what you like, count the points and stay in your points range.  The exercise part has been a  no-brainer for me, too.  I run.  I love to run.

In fact, today I wanted needed to run.  I’m an emotional eater and today I felt that familiar feeling coming on.  I knew I had a choice: eat or run.  I chose to run and am so glad that I did.  Instead of eating a ton of junk food and feeling lousy after the binge, I was able to work out my frustration and get in a good workout, too.  I can honestly say I don’t think I have ever chose to exercise over eating before and it felt pretty darn good!

Tomorrow is Halloween…did you know that?!!  I just bought my candy and it will not be opened until Trick or Treat starts tomorrow night.  I will also not be bringing any home with me.  That last kid is going to feel really lucky tomorrow night when the leftover candy gets dumped into his/her goody bag!

I haven’t decided if I will have any goodies tomorrow night.  I know myself well.   One piece leads to two, three…you see the pattern.  I am the lucky one who is bringing the veggies, so I plan on nibbling on those during the evening.  Yes, I know I shouldn’t deny myself anything.  I’m sure I’ll enjoy the fare.  I just know that tomorrow starts the holiday rush with parties, sweet treats, baking, etc.  I don’t want to gain the 5-10 lbs that the average person gains during the next couple of months.  I’d love to lose that much!  Ha! I can dream, right?  Even to maintain during this time would be a success.

How do you handle the Halloween treats?  Do you worry about your weight and the holidays?  Any good tips to keep me on the straight and narrow?

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finish Strong Sunday-Halloween Edition

  1. I do worry about gaining weight during the holidays too. I think what you are doing so far seems to be working out great – congrats on the 5%! I hope to be back at that again soon. How long have you been doing WW?

    We did not get trick-or-treaters so there was no temptation there. I heard once (I think from my mom) that you should eat something healthy (like a salad) before you go to a party so you do not binge once you are there.

    Thanks for the inspiration and keep up the great work!!

  2. Mandy says:

    Congrats on the weight loss!!! That’s awesome!

    Kudos to you for being good on Halloween! I was just lamenting our extra Halloween candy as I totally didn’t follow my one piece rule with Mark out of town tonight…maybe I need to join you in WW!!! 😀

  3. Congrats on your weight loss!!! You have worked so hard for it! Yay!!!

    I’m a chocoholic, so I have to be really careful what I keep around the house. During the holidays, I don’t eat whatever I bake. Maybe it’s that I see what actually goes into all the delicious goodies, but I just can’t eat it. Now, eating whatever anyone else has? Yeah, that’s a problem….love those goodies! For Halloween, I always buy candy I do NOT like…I’m not remotely tempted that way.

    I really like Weight Watchers as it teaches you healthy eating habits and cooking on your own versus buying prepackaged food. I think it’s a healthy weight loss program. LOVE my WW cookbooks…so many great recipes!

Leave a Reply

