Thanksgiving Day Fun

 Race: Hinckley Turkey Burner 5K

We had originally gone for the Family Walk, but I was hoping to run the 5K.  When I went to register online, the 5K was closed.  I had to pay an extra $5 and didn’t get a shirt, but I was fine with that.  It was a small race @200 runners.

I was feeling very intimidated and started second guessing myself as I looked around at all the fit people there.  I also began hearing the talk of hills and as I looked around the area, I knew that I was in for some serious lung burning.

Rich, my dad and the kiddos took off for the walk/scavenger hunt at 8:30 and I went and sat in the van until close to the 9am start time.  I wish I knew how to get rid of the voice inside my head that tells me I’m not good enough…it was there loud and clear that morning.

We walked to the start (thankfully going downhill) and we were off.  I hit the first hill at about a quarter mile in.

 

The First Hill...straight up!

I have to say I was proud of myself running all the way up when people around me stopped to walk.  It gave me a confidence boost to continue on.  I hoped that was the only one, but as we headed back down and hit a mile, I could see the next hill looming in the distance…

The Second Hill...see a pattern here?!!

This one was a bit tougher, just because my legs were tired, but I powered on and made it up without stopping to walk.  At this point, I am actually passing people!!!  We continue  to go up and down small rolling hills and are at about 2.5 miles when I come around a corner and see this…

This monster makes Killer Hill look like nothing!

We ran down and then straight back up.  My legs were about done at this point, so I walked up this hill.  Most everyone around me was walking, too!  When I got to the top, I started running again..this time it was all downhill to the finish.

I was able to speed up a little and pass 2 more people before the finish line!  😀

My 5K time was 34:52!  An 11:15 pace…awesome for me especially with the hills!

I met up with my family and enjoyed some hot chocolate and pumpkin roll, along with other goodies.  They were just getting back from their hike.  Rich was surprised to see I was done already.  He thought I’d take longer with the hills…Ha!

We went back home and enjoyed a delicious meal prepared by my Mom!

I have to say, I have never done a Thanksgiving race before, but from now on, it will be a tradition that I hope to continue for a very long time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Day Fun

  1. Mandy says:

    I love Thanksgiving races!!!
    Let’s get a muzzle for that little voice that says “you can’t” – you ROCKED that 5K – hills, what hills? 🙂

    Seriously though – those are some crazy hills! GREAT JOB!

  2. I love racing on Thanksgiving Day! This sounds like a fun and challenging race. And Amy, your pace is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! So proud of you, friend! I enjoyed this recap and reading about a new race.

    Always remember, you are good enough. You are an inspiration to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

