Weight Watchers + Eating Out = No Fun

This evening was the first time I have eaten out at a sit-down restaurant since I have started WW.  Yes, I know I have no life. 

I went out with some of my co-workers after being at a book fair and I was looking forward to a nice evening out.  We decided on Ruby Tuesday because of the awesomely big salad bar there. 

Once we got there, all of my good intentions went out the window.  I struggled to make the choice of having the salad bar.  I really wanted a big, juicy burger instead!  I ended up ordering the salad bar, but added some broccoli cheddar soup to go with it.  Then the server brought out the garlic cheddar biscuits.  I had the debate in my head, “Do I eat one?  They’re small.  No, I shouldn’t eat one.  They aren’t good for me.  I wonder how many points they are.”   This is why I need a smart phone!  I hope my husband is reading this…hint, hint!

 

<——Wowsers!  I probably wouldn’t have had that one…

 

 

Anywhoodle, I had a biscuit.  I enjoyed the soup.  I had a plate of salad.  I ate, but I didn’t really enjoy the food like I would have if it had been a burger and fries.  I did enjoy the conversation with friends.  I tried to focus on that, but I felt like I was constantly keeping myself in check.  No fun.

Once I got home, I calculated my dinner.  My stupid soup was 10 pts.  10 pts. for a CUP of soup.  Totally not worth it.  Luckily, I had plenty of points left and only went over my daily amount by a few. 

Broccoli Cheddar Soup. Photo by *Parsley*<——-Full of processed cheese and heavy whipping cream!  Blarf!

 

 

Here’s the thing, I’m going out to dinner tomorrow night, too.  At least I know where we’ll be going and I can figure out what I’m going to order before we get there and not be unpleasantly surprised.  I hope that it’s easier than tonight was.  Practice makes perfect, right?!!

If you watch what you eat, how do you handle eating out?  Have you ever been surprised about how many calories are in something  you ate?

Finish Strong!

Amy

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weight Watchers + Eating Out = No Fun

  1. Mandy says:

    Such a tough one Amy! It depends on how thing have gone lately. There are times when I just have to let myself have a burger. I sometimes make up for it by getting a burger with fruit instead of fries.

    Soup for 10 points? Definitely not worth it!

    Surprised? OMG. Never so much as when I finally looked up how many calories were in my favorite peppermint chocolate shake….which helped me resist getting it earlier this week.

  2. I am with Mandy – it is tough when you go out but sometimes you just have to let yourself HAVE the burger and add a veggie with it or fruit if it is available. You can make a burger healthy. I have been totally shocked about the calories in some of my favorites foods. I miss them dearly but I know now I shouldn’t have them. I’ll pick Panera a lot to meet up with people since the calories are right on their board and you know right away how much you are eating! I hope your next dinner goes well. You definitely need a smartphone! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve looked up something from First Watch on it during an after MIT breakfast!

  3. My rule when I was losing weight is that it is too expensive to eat out and not enjoy it. First Watch was the exception on not ordering what I thought sounded good. I also ate out no more than once a week at that time so I knew exactly what I was eating. Oh, and I made sure to eat a smaller breakfast and lunch when we went out to dinner. And I second Laurie on Panera because it makes figuring out what you are eating so much easier, although I was a calorie counter, so it might be harder on WW. When I first starting dieting, I almost cried when I found out how many calories were in my beloved Skyline 3-way and my favorite Fazoli’s meal.

  4. Yes! My mother-in-law always stops to eat fast food when we travel (which I hate, because it is not that good and SO BAD for you). We went to Arby’s in Cambridge on Sunday and I ordered the Turkey and Swiss (whole wheat bread, lettuce, tomato, onion, turkey). When I got home and looked it up, I found that sandwich was 700 CALORIES! I would have been better off with the roast beef! Holy crap! So yes, I spent 700 calories at Arby’s (blech) and didn’t even enjoy it really. I was just so hungry was the only reason it tasted good!

    Now, when I go out, I sometimes eat what I want and make that my cheat meal (like everyone else said). Sometimes you just need it and it keeps you sane and keeps you from craving it and overdoing it later!

Leave a Reply

