Finish Strong Sunday-White-Knuckling It

I had a great weigh-in this week!  I was down 3.4 lbs. for a total of 25 lbs!!  😀  At my meeting, I received a 25 lbs. award.  It’s a small disk that I added to my keychain.
 
Yay Me!

I went out to eat 3 times last week.  On Wednesday, I went to Ruby Tuesday.  See my rant here.  On Thursday, I went to Bob Evans.  This time I was smarter and decided what to order before I went!  I ordered the small grilled chicken Wildfire Salad with the dressing on the side.  I didn’t have the roll.  I wanted the roll! 

 
Finally, on Friday, I went to Marcella’s.  We ordered a cheese tray and a melted cheese appetizer.  I had a taste of all of them…delicious!  For my meal, I ordered a chopped salad and Capellini del Pomodoro (basically, noodles and sauce).  I forgot to ask for the dressing on the side, so my salad was covered with dressing.  I let it go and enjoyed it.  My dinner was good, but pretty basic.  I really wanted the risotto.  While everything tasted great,  I left feeling dissatisfied.
 
While I am very proud of my weight loss and how well I am doing, I can’t help but obsess worry that I am white-knuckling my eating.  I feel like I am being so controlled at eating within my points and trying not to eat all of my activity points/weekly allowance points, that I am not learning to eat like I’m not on a diet and/or allowing myself to enjoy eating.  I need to realize that this is a new way of living.  I need to relax a bit and be okay with sometimes going over on points.  If this is truly going to be a lifestyle change, then I need to remember that in life there are ups and downs.  I don’t want to be so rigid, lose the weight, and then go back to eating like I used to and gain it all back.  Been there.  Done that. 
 
This weekend will be a challenge for me.  3 parties and a lunch out.  Actually, this week I’m eating out twice, as well.  I’m suddenly feeling quite popular!  🙂 Maybe this is the weekend to relax a bit?  Maybe wait until after the holidays are over?  Thoughts?
 
How do I change my way of thinking?  If you’ve lost weight and kept it off, how did you do it?  Did you have ups and downs? 
 
Finish Strong!
Amy 🙂
 
 

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, friend, runner, scrapbooker, teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finish Strong Sunday-White-Knuckling It

  1. You should check out runsqrlrun.com. She’s maintaing some serious weight loss and has been talking about her ups and downs a lot. She’s a really sweet girl, so I’m sure she’d be able to give you some advice. I wouldn’t give up on the holidays, but it does seem like you could relax a little. Like I commented earlier, I lost a decent amount of weight and still “cheated” once or twice a week. Feeling deprived will just make you crazy eventually.

  2. Mandy says:

    I agree – I think you can relax a little. I think the dissatisfied feeling can be our undoing often.

    Regardless – CONGRATS on the fantastic weight loss this week!

  3. Congratulations on accomplishing 25 lbs!! That is awesome and you should be really proud! Keep up the good work!! I have read many articles that say if you crave something – have it – but don’t over do it. Like if you want a piece of chocolate – have some – but not the whole bag. If that makes sense. Its worked for me thus far! Although I am struggling a bit this holiday season!

  4. I agree with everyone else. The more I DEPRIVE myself all the time, the more I tend to overeat and not make good choices. Allowing yourself to “cheat” or as I like to call it “enjoy” food every once in awhile is OKAY. I think if you start doing this, you won’t feel like you are so controlled and not having any satisfaction. Especially on a special occasion or night out, make that your cheat meal and enjoy! Some people even do this once a week, which I try not to do, but it is hard during the holidays. When I was better at keeping all of my weight lost off, I stopped counting calories religiously and went by FEEL. I knew what was good for me and what was bad for me and for the majority of the time, I ate the GOOD stuff only. I recognized when I was full and stopped eating. Then, when we did go out or go to a special event, my body started to naturally tell me when I was done. I tended to not overindulge even when I thought I would. A taste here or a “splurge” meal there was great, but I got to the point where I would have one and not even finish it because I was full or because it just wasn’t;t as good as I once thought. I still enjoyed it, didn’t worry about it, and picked back up where I left off at the next meal. This is how you begin to change your “tracking” to a lifestyle. Your body won’t let you down!

    25 lbs is AMAZING! And you can tell – you are looking great, my friend! Congrats! Your hard work is paying off for sure. Take some time to ENJOY the holidays, you know when enough is enough and I think you will walk away feeling satisfied and not like you have been deprived of something you wish you had!

  5. First congrats 🙂 Second I think there is a period of transition from weight loss to maintaining that takes learning to trust yourself a little more. I have maintained a 35lb loss for 8 years and heck tonight I had a sundae for dinner 🙂 But that’s not the norm and I totally ran today.

    My goal with eating out is to find something with lots of veggies and a protein I love like salmon since I rarely make it at home. That way i’m satisfied and have still gotten something that won’t leave me feeling weighed down later

Leave a Reply

